RSS Feed

Mrs. Severson’s Reading Selfies

IMG_2184.JPGIMG_2228.JPGIMG_2262.JPG

IMG_2162.JPGIMG_2183.JPG

I read four and a half books during my break, and listened to one.  I don’t really think I LOVED any of them, and the one I thought I would LOVE, I still haven’t finished!  What is wrong with me?!

I plowed through the first two Under the Never Sky books so quickly.  And as soon as I finished the second book, I pre-ordered the third book — over a year ago.  So why can’t I seem to get into Into the Still Blue?  Maybe I just lost the momentum.  I forgot that Perry can sometimes be a big jerk, and I don’t even remember why Roar is so crabby.  In theory, I should go back and re-read Through the Ever Night, but I hardly ever re-read a book.

Speaking of re-reading.  I did re-read a favorite book during break.  It is a book I’ve read before and really enjoy and I really needed a “vacation” book that didn’t make me think too hard.  I don’t have a copy of that book in my stack, but it was on my Kindle.  Its a cross between science fiction and historical romance and one of my favorite series of all times.

Canning Season was weird.  I can’t picture a kid reading it.  Out of the Dust was great and I will be sharing it with seventh graders this year.  I listened to The Son by Phillip Heyer on audio book, and it was a good audio book, but by the end of the book I was mad at most of the characters — so I haven’t decided if I liked the book or not.

My favorite time to read was the morning on the patio with my husband.  He was reading Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption.  We’d drink our coffee and sit in the sunshine and read together.  I know this sounds dorky to you, because you’re in middle school; but to this old lady, it was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

