RSS Feed

It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

These memes were started by Teach Mentor Texts and Book Journeys, to inspire readers to share books they have read and will be reading. I have found many of my current reads by following bloggers participating in It’s Monday! What are you reading? Be sure to check out their sites for more information on what they are reading, and learn how to participate.

3  

I feel like I had a slower reading week.  I traveled a bit in the car, so I had some time to listen to audio books, but not as much free time to read.  But the books I did read were all winners and I’m so glad to be able to recommend them!

When I Found You  Paperboy   The World As We Know It     Twerp

Of the four books, Twerp was above and beyond my favorite.  The Paperboy was good, but at the end I wasn’t wowed by it.  When I Found You was my adult pick this week, and it is a quiet understated story.  I also caught up with The World as We Know It.  The book sat on my classroom shelf all year and a couple of ninth grade girls read it and loved it, I just never picked it up.  I loved this family and everything about this book and finished it with tears running down my face.   Twerp is still my favorite of this week and will make sure to include it in my classroom library, and maybe as a read aloud.

I also listened to Moonbird in the car.  Interesting experience listening to non-fiction without any of the pictures. It was a great and engaging listen, but I found that I had to take more breaks from it, than a traditional fiction audiobook.

Up this week:

Finish Moonbird

Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95

The Spectacular Now

Up on deck this week —

How I Found the Strong

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

On Little Wings

Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me

7 responses »

  1. Rump is a book I’ve been looking forward to for some time and need to read it soon. I’ll have to look up Twerp, that one looks amazing. Enjoy your upcoming reads!

    Here’s what we’re reading

    Reply
  2. I never read books like Moonbird, but I LOVED it! Rump is also fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. I’m curious about Rump because I have been seeing it all over the place. I also have Moonbird in my media center but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Come see my Monday wrap-up. Have a great reading week.

    Reply
  4. ENJOY your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Reply
  5. When I Found You looks very interesting. Enjoy all of your books this week!

    Reply
  6. Rump is on my soon to read this as well 🙂
    I can understand about the ending of Paperboy, but I really liked it – it is a special book.

    Happy reading this week 🙂
    Kellee
    http://www.unleashingreaders.com

    Reply
  7. Pingback: It’s Monday What Are You Reading? | Leonardo's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

