RSS Feed

Read Alouds

I’m planning on adding read alouds back into my middle school curriculum.  I did read to kids when I first started teaching, but last year, as my first year with Springboard curriculum, I just didn’t make the time for it.

Well… things are changing and reading aloud is happening once again in my classroom.

 

Books I have chosen so far, and I’m sure there will be more added or even this list might change.

For 7th Grade:

Capture the Flag (Capture the Flag, #1)  Little Heathens: Hard Times and High Spirits on an Iowa Farm During the Great Depression   The Center of Everything The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)

Little Heathens I plan on using during a dust bowl cross-curricular unit.  I’ll just be reading excerpts from the book, not the whole thing.  This unit happens right before we write personal narratives, so I’m hoping there will be some cross-over.

Eighth Grade:

I'll Be There  The Lions of Little RockShooting the Moon

I’m trying to plan read alouds that echo the unit that is being taught during social studies class.  I haven’t read Shooting the Moon, so I still need to read and evaluate that book for a read aloud.

 

I’m still looking for a few more and have high hopes for the following books on pre-order:

 

Counting by 7s  The Real Boy Duke The 14 Fibs of Gregory K. Wake Up Missing

 

I don’t remember much about what I was reading in third grade, but I do remember what Mrs. Irwin read aloud to us.  Caddie Woodlawn, Soup (so funny!), Where the Red Fern Grows, and there’s another one that I can see the cover but can’t quite get the name.    Mrs. Irwin was a relative to the Irwin half of Hadley Irwin.  It was the year I remember my reading really taking off.  I spent fourth grade immersed in Judy Blume books and read the rest of the Soup  books.

What read alouds were memorable for you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

