RSS Feed

It’s Monday — What Are You Reading?

These memes were started by Teach Mentor Texts and Book Journeys, to inspire readers to share books they have read and will be reading. I have found many of my current reads by following bloggers participating in It’s Monday! What are you reading? Be sure to check out their sites for more information on what they are reading, and learn how to participate.

 

3  

 

Books I finished in the last week:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

I read a lot of books. Some books I find time to read in the quiet moments of the house, fitting in 10 minutes of reading here or there. Other books, the best kind of books, mean the house is going to fall down around me because I’m reading. They are stay up late, kids are eating cereal for dinner, no one has clean laundry books. I am reading and don’t interupt me, don’t talk to me, I AM READING.

This is one of those books, the best kind of books. And even now, after I’ve just finished the book, I don’t have the words to describe what I just read.

A memory shaded with magic, spooky and mystical, the storytelling is beautiful. The story in the end confronts how we remember things, specifically our childhood.

 

The Lost Sun

The Lost Sun (The United States of Asgard, #1)

I listened to the audiobook version of this.

This was a book I had to pay attention to! No multi-tasking while listening to this one. The world building was subtle and wonderful. I loved all the little touches — like elf-kisses instead of goosebumps.

Soren Bearskin is a berserker who doesn’t want to be controlled by his beserking nature. Astrid Glynn is the daughter of a famous seether and a seether herself.

Their adventure together begins when Baldur, the sun god, and son of Odin disappears. Astrid convinces Soren that they should go find him.

The second half of this book is action-packed and I was sad when it ended. I’m already waiting for the next book to be published!

Capture the Flag

Capture the Flag (Capture the Flag, #1)

What a wonderful read! This is going to be a read aloud in my classroom this year.

The Center of Everything

The Center of Everything

I am such a sucker for books between a young character and a grandma figure. Maybe because The Lilith Summer was one of my very first books I remember crying while reading. Maybe it was because I called my great grandma Gigi, like Ruby’s calls her grandma. I adored this book. I loved everything about it and plan to use it as a read alound this fall.

 

Up on Deck this week

Stepping on the Cracks

a fun picture book is slated to arrive tomorrow:  Penguins Hate Stuff

 

 

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)

The Truth About Forever

Prisoner B-3087

 

and because I’ve never read it, I’d also like to try to listen to The Graveyard Book.  My son read it years ago and loved it, and now that I’m enamored with The Ocean at the End of the Lane, I feel like I have to read it.

 

 

4 responses »

  1. The Penguin book looks super cute! Must look for it at the library.
    -Reshama
    http://www.stackingbooks.com

    Reply
  2. Penguins Hate Stuff looks so cute! I also enjoyed Capture the Flag and The Center of Everything. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. So much to comment on!!!
    First, yay for Kate Messner! Capture the Flag is such a fun mystery, adventure.
    Second, I hope to get to Center of Everything, Prisoner, and Gaiman’s new book soon.
    Third, love Origami Yoda!
    Fourth, enjoy The Graveyard Book- it is amazing.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

    Reply
  4. Looks great…enjoy!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Reply

Leave a Reply

