RSS Feed

Runt

Runt: Story of a Boy

Book Review by: Sarah P., 8th Grade

Author: V. M. Caldwell

Published by: Milkweed Editions

Genre: Realistic Fiction

How would you feel if your best friend had cancer?

After Runt’s mother died, he was forced to move into a trailer  with his sister that he hasn’t seen in six years, and her horrible new boyfriend Cole. He knew absolutely no one in town, and has never felt so alone in his life. Runt wanted to escape more than anything else, so he started collecting money, and making a plan. Then everything changed when Mitch came into his life. At first, Runt  doesn’t know what to make of this guy, with his tall body folded into a wheelchair and his wispy orange hair. He soon learns that Mitch’s problems are way bigger than his could ever be. Mitch has cancer. A friendship sparks between them, and soon they are inseparable. While Mitch struggles with the cancer spreading throughout his body, Runt struggles with his home life, and finding out who he really is.

Overall, I would have to say that I enjoyed the book. I loved the idea of friendship that the author portrays in the story. The storyline was a little slow in the beginning, but I am so glad that I didn’t give up on it. The book also showed me the realities of cancer, and the book really tugged my heart. I urge you to read this book!

I would recommend this book to people who are in sixth grade or above. This book has some sad parts in it, so I do not think that younger children would enjoy this book very much. I most definitely enjoyed the book, and I think that most people would also. Please read this book!

 

 

Leave a Reply

